xmen

 

Jeri Jacquin

This Friday in theatres from director Bryan Singer, Marvel Entertainment and Twentieth Century Fox is the unraveling of X-MEN: Apocalypse.

Apocalypse or En Sabah Nur (Oscar Isaac) is the world’s first mutant and after being betrayed by his own people, he is left buried under a pyramid of rubble. When Moira Mactaggert (Rose Byrne) discovers that the mutant has been discovered, she isn’t the only one who knows something is wrong.

Professor Charles Xavier (James McAvoy) also knows something is wrong and looks for Moira to find answers when an earthquake shakes the planet. Raven/Mystique (Jennifer Lawrence) rescues Kurt/Nightcrawler (Kodi Smit-McPhee) and in the process knows there is something wrong with Eric/Magneto (Michael Fassbender).

trans 3

As Apocalypse gets his era bearings, he begins to find other mutants that will help him. First there is Ororo/Storm (Alexandra Shipp), then Psylocke (Olivia Munn) and finally Angel (Ben Hardy). Knowing that Magneto is angry once again, he uses that to his advantage.

Raven returns to the Gifted School and sees Hank/Beast (Nicholas Hoult), Jean Grey (Sophie Turner) and Scott/Cyclops (Tye Sheridan). When Apocalypse enters the school, it is his intention to take Charles but not before attempting to demolish the school. Peter/Quicksilver (Evan Peters) rescues them all but not before being taken by the military.

That won’t stop anything as they all end up back in Cairo, Egypt to put a stop to Apocalypse’ plan for world destruction – but they will need each other to save not only the world but one another.

McAvoy as Charles has this role down pat. Although I didn’t realize there was a storyline about why Charles would later become bald, I guess I should be thrilled to know.  McAvoy is just endearing and I’m going to hold onto that. There are a few moments where I wondered why one minute his character is in an electric chair and the next he’s in a hand pushed chair.

trans 4

Fassbender as Eric/Magneto gets a chance to show this characters more ‘human’ side, the problem is I didn’t believe it. Now what I did believe was his response to being angry. I’m probably confused here and I’d be happy to give up five minutes to have it explained to me (and only five minutes) as to when Magneto got a heart. Did I miss something? Please don’t say ‘go back and watch the movies again’ – just give me the answer in five!

Fassbender and McAvoy could read a phone book and I’d be happy, thought I’d throw that out there too. These two have given a young men’s perspective on the original Charles and Eric relationship and I’ve enjoyed it.

Lawrence as Raven/Mystique seems to be the Mom of the group. Wanting to protect each of them and reaching out to Erik she will do what’s necessary in the name of X-men. Hoult as Hank is smart and clearly still dealing with emotions about his gal-pal blue counterpart.

Smit-McPhee as Kurt/Nightcrawler was actually sweet, fast and even a little funny at times. Hardy as Angel has issues with his wings that end up being more sharp than feathery. Shipp as Ororo/Storm spends more time watching than doing. Munn as Psylocke isn’t happy with the results of the final battle and I have a feeling she will be back.

trans 1

Turner as Jean basically spends the film waiting for her moment in the brightness. Now that she has – head back to Westeros and listen to Brianne! Sheridan as Scott gets a chance to look like Data from STAR TREK by the films end. Byrne as Mactaggert finally gets a little memory about Professor Charles and gets caught up in the mayhem. Isaac as Apocalypse is well hidden under a ton of makeup and costuming.

My golden tub of popcorn for the film goes to Evan Peters as Peter/Quicksilver. I just love this character with his wit, charm, humor, and every scene he is in. His smart quips to the admission about living in his Mom’s basement are so filled with fun that I loved every scene Peters is in. Can we do a film about Quicksilver? I have a feeling it would be like DEADPOOL but with less swearing.

Other cast include: Josh Helman as Col. Stryker, Lucas Till as Alex Summers/Havok, Lana Condor as Jubilee, Warren Scherer as Pestilence, Rochelle Okoye as Famine, Monique Ganderton as Death and of course Mr. Stan Lee makes his appearance that always makes the audience cheer!

TUBS OF POPCORN: I give X-MEN: Apocalypse three and a half tubs of popcorn out of five. This film comes in at over 143 minutes (that’s two hours and 23 minutes kiddies!) and I just don’t know why it needed to be. I think it might be time to let the X-Men take a vacation in the Caribbean until further notice. Maybe they should let a class actually graduate from the school before they destroy it again. I’m sure the parents paying for their kids to go there would appreciate a certificate, diploma – something!

trans 5

The opening 5 or so minutes of dazzling cgi wormhole was enough to send my stomach upside down and inside out. Of course I have to close my eyes and hope the actual film starts and don’t miss anything in the middle of that. Then, when the story begins I’m back in Egypt feeling like I’m watching THE MUMMY (1999) or maybe it’s the Star Trek film where Spock dies and they have to do the Kolinahr to change bodies.

Then Magneto/Eric is in the woods being a normal Russian Husband/Dad/Iron Worker sporting a lumberjack beard. That storyline was pretty predictable and the reaction was even more predictable. When did Magneto become such a good guy? Maybe when the very sexy Fassbender took the role – no offense Gandolf!

Raven is trying to rescue mutants like she found a box of puppies on a street corner. Don’t get me wrong I love Lawrence, I think I’m just done with the whole X-Men who-is-bad-and-who-changes. Yes, my list is very long but the point is really that no one needs to listen to anything I say.

trans 2

I have to say that in CAPTAIN AMERICA: Civil War released last week, the issue of what superheroes do seems to affect ‘normal’ people with mass destruction on a huge scale along with lots of death (and not of the villains or superheroes). I couldn’t get that out of my head with this film too. I mean it might be time to rein them in because I don’t think I can sit through another city being demolished because some super villain has an ego problem. There, I said it.

X-MEN fans are going to go and go they should. After everything I’ve said I can honestly say the film is cgi entertaining enough and that’s seems to be all it takes to get butts in the seats. There are a few surprises that I’m not about to give away – sit through the film to find for yourself.

In the end – only the strong will survive!

