capt

 

Jeri Jacquin

Coming to theatres this Friday from directors Anthony Russo, Joe Russo and Marvel Entertainment comes the battle of CAPTAIN AMERICA: Civil War.

The fallout toward the Avengers has brought on pressure from all sides as (William Hurt). When it comes to what is best for the country the arguing between the superheroes begins. Tony Stark aka Iron Man (Robert Downey, Jr.) is confronted by a grieving mother for the fight that happened in Sokovia with Ultron.

Hitting him hard, Stark gathers supporters who have agreed to the government overseeing of their activities and also agree to sign a document of accountability called the Sokovia Accords.

Steve Rogers aka Captain America (Chris Evans) feels that he would be doing humanity a disservice by signing the government agreement. The rift between friends begins except for Natasha who seems to be playing the neutral role!

In Vienna where the document is to be signed, a bomb rips through the building killing many heads of state including King T’Chaka of Wakanda. The Kings son T’Challa aka Black Panther (Chadwick Boseman) vows revenge. When Natasha Romanoff aka Black Widow (Scarlet Johansson) looks into what really happened, the video shows Bucky Barnes (Sebastian Stan) responsible for the bombing.

cap 4

When Bucky is found, they quickly learn that Helmut Zemo (Daniel Brühl) has brainwashed him with a code word that sets him off into destruction mode.

As sides divide, Rogers has Sam Wilson aka Falcon, Clint Barton aka Hawkeye (Jeremy Renner), and Scott Lang aka Ant-Man (Paul Rudd).  Stark’s crew comprises of James Rhodes aka War Machine (Don Cheadle), Vision (Paul Bettany), and Peter Parker aka Spider-Man (Tom Holland).

The group is also fighting over Wanda Maximoff aka Scarlet Witch (Elizabeth Olsen) and how best to protect her as she learns to use her powers.

While there is infighting, the bigger picture is about to be revealed as Stark, Rogers and Bucky return to Siberia to discover what Zemo’s plan has always been and why. Now each of the super heroes must once again decide where they are to go from this moment on.

RDJ as Tony Stark has made the role of Iron Man totally his and until my last breath I can not imagine anyone else playing this role. RDJ in this film shows a deeper and harder side to his character realizing that the battles the group participates in has a rippling effect that he doesn’t quite know what to do with. It doesn’t matter; RDJ can do no wrong for me.

Evans as Rogers is a man trying to prove a point. I’m not sure what that point is by refusing to sign an agreement that holds him accountable. Personally, I think they all should be accountable when their antics cause chaos and misery for people who didn’t ask for it. That’s the frustrating part of watching super heroes – they are always jacking up someone’s town and walking away. Evans plays this character from a by gone era and it seems the longer he hangs with the here and now, the more he doesn’t like it.

cap 3

Johansson as Natasha is a character that barely touches on anything really. Never sure what side she is on I must conclude that she chose no side and does what ever she wants in the moment. Stan as Barnes is a dark character with no chances of ever cracking a smile.

The rest of the cast gets a chance to throw punches and have opinions. Renner as Hawkeye isn’t happy to be there. Bettany as Vision is a vision watching this character try and understand what it truly means to be human.

My peeves are Olsen as Maximoff, I mean seriously. You have powers but don’t know how to use them? Come on! That battle scene wouldn’t even be happening if she just stepped up to the plate. Then again I have that same opinion of all the ‘supers’. This character was just a-n-noying. But she wasn’t alone as Boseman’s Black Panther didn’t hit the mark with me.

Rudd as Ant Man is hilarious and Holland as Spider-Man is a young man who is just thrilled to be asked to be a part of the fight. I knew Holland was going to rise fast in Hollywood and it will be interesting to see Peter Parker again with Holland spinning the web.

Brühl is another actor that just keeps getting better and better. As Zemo he can wrap his resume around being a Marvel bad guy.

TUBS OF POPCORN: I give CAPTAIN AMERICA: Civil War three tubs of popcorn out of five. I am going to get so much garbage for what I’m about to say (and trust me my family will get in on the grumblings) but this film is such a hot mess. There are to many characters doing too many things and taking way too long to do them!

Two of the most annoying characters are the Black Panther and the Scarlet Witch, I personally thought they both could have been eliminated from the film and I wouldn’t have missed them.

cap 2

Yes, I read comics that belonged to my brother when we were kids but couldn’t tell you today what they were about. I do know the characters and what their powers are and that’s about all I care to know. Obviously I am team Stark but only because I adore Robert Downey, Jr. as Iron Man or RDJ just as an actor period.

The highlights for me where the snarky remarks because that’s the kind of humor I enjoy. I looked forward to Rudd and Holland providing some relief from all the other drama going on with a group that acted like high schoolers.

Will that change anyone’s opinion going to the film? Nope, not one little solitary soldierly bit. Fans are going to go in willingly, hand over their wads of hard earned cash for a ticket and popcorn spending 147 minutes in happy land. Isn’t that what Marvel films are all about?

Marvel is all about taking iconic characters and putting them on the big screen to see what mayhem they can cause. Succeeding admirably means that although I’m not a huge fan of this particular film, it doesn’t mean I’m not a fan of the Marvel Universe – and I have an Iron Man action figure on my desk to prove it.

So go my young at heart intelligencia and have fun at the movies!

In the end – united we stand and divided we fall!

